Giant Cupcake Cake

16 Feb

I was asked to make a cake for a friend’s birthday (it’s a surprise)…. but not just any cake. A giant cupcake cake. I borrowed the Wilton cupcake pan and made a practice cake. This is the one you see here. I’m hoping the birthday girl will take a picture of the actual cake (as my camera died).

This bad boy is huge, but very pretty… At least in my opinion. But cupcakes are like crack to me, so maybe I’m biased. Cutting a slice of this definitely leads to a sugar high, but it’s worth it.

The cake is lemon, with a light lemon buttercream. There is a layer of raspberry filling between the top and bottom. I made a cute little fondant rose for the top.

2 Responses to “Giant Cupcake Cake”

  1. Cheryl November 3, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Is this a gluten free cake? It rose so nicely. My daughter is a Celiac and always wants a gluten free big top cupcake but I usually have to end up using 3 cake mixes to get it to desired height. Then to me it is heavier too.

    • GoodBye Gluten November 4, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

      Hi There!

      It is indeed a gluten free cake. My recommendation is find a cake recipe that is full of gluten (one that uses egg whites instead of whole eggs) and then replacing the regular flour with a light gf flour mix (try a mix of brown rice, white rice, and sweet rice flour, plus 1/2 tspn xanthan gum). Sometimes you need to add extra leavening as well- but it’s all trial and error.

      Good luck! 🙂

Leave a comment