Iron Cupcake Milwaukee

14 Feb

Well folks…. Iron Cupcake Milwaukee has come and gone. It was an amazing and crazy experience!

My kitchen looked like a war zone and I went a full 48 hours without sleep. However, the end result was fantastic and fun. I cannot even describe the atmosphere at the Kern center in Milwaukee. They sold out of tickets (over 2000 people attended) and over 500 people tried my cupcakes. People texted their votes and for the longest time I was rated as the 2nd best amateur and 4th best overall cupcake. The end result was 4th place in the amateur category (out of 20 bakers) and I’m still looking forward to hearing what I placed out of 30 bakers.

People seemed to really enjoy my cupcakes, which is very exciting for a gluten-free baker! I’m hoping that my name is now out there and I can get the ball rolling…

The night before the competition I got to meet Duff from Ace of Cakes. He was hilarious and adorable. Please excuse my appearance (far right) in the picture… I look a bit disheveled, but it’s my only photo! Apparently they had issues with fan-crazed people at the competition and had to usher him out. I was completely unaware because I was being bombarded with cupcake-crazed people πŸ™‚

My final flavors were coffee & donuts. I made a mocha cupcake filled with coffee liqueur topped with meringue frosting, chocolate drizzle, and a chocolate covered espresso bean. The other cupcake was a donut cupcake filled with raspberry, topped with buttercream and a mini donut. All gluten free of course! Below are some pictures of my cupcakes. I didn’t end up taking my own, so thankfully a friend e-mailed me a few.

One Response to “Iron Cupcake Milwaukee”

  1. Leslie February 15, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    They were sooooo yummy!! (I could use a few of each, right now, actually!) Congrats!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

