Sugar Cookies

22 Oct

I haven’t had a sugar cookie in 2 years. Today I decided it was time to change that. I have had the worst luck trying to bake gluten free cookies, but today I successfully made what the boyfriend is calling “the best cookie ever.” He actually told me not to change a thing in the recipe because he loved it. (Don’t tell him I told you, but he ate 5 cookies in about 10 minutes)

These cookies were a little chewy in the middle and crunchy on the outside.

I adapted the recipe from my Better Homes & Garden Cookbook and actually halved it. I’m posting what I actually used, but you could double it and it should work!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Sugar Cookies

Whatcha Need:
Preheat oven to 300

1/4 c butter, softened (I used dairy free Earth Balance)
1/4 c shortening
1 c sugar
1/2 tspn baking soda
1/2 tspn cream of tartar
1/4 c + 1/8 c white rice flour
1/4 c brown rice flour
1/4 c sweet rice flour
1/4 tspn xanthan gum
1/2 tspn vanilla
1.5 egg yolks (about 1/8 c of egg yolk)

With a handheld or stand mixer, eat your butter and shortening on high for 30 seconds. Add the sugar, baking soda, and cream of tartar and beat until well combined. Make sure you scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the egg yolks and vanilla and beat until incorporated.

In a separate bowl mix together your gluten free flours and xanthan gum. Add this to your butter mixture and beat until combined. Your dough is going to still be crumbly. I thought I had done something horribly wrong, but the dough still held together when it baked!

Cover a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Roll the dough into balls; I think mine were about 1.5 inch balls. Place 2 inches apart on the cookie sheet and bake for 15-17 minutes. They shouldn’t be at all brown, but the edges should be set. I think the less time you cook them, the more chewy they will be.

Let them cool about 1-2 minutes on your cookie sheet and then move them to a cooling rack to cool. I sprinkled mine with a little bit of sugar.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

