gluten and dairy free quiche

2 Sep

Summer flew by this year. With all the business preparations that I did, I feel like I didn’t get a break! Not that I’m complaining. I’m quite proud of how much I accomplished in just a few months! The Victory will have my cupcakes again this weekend. Sentry Metcalfe’s will start selling my cupcakes in their bakery and cafe within the next few weeks and I was just contacted by the Willy Street Co-op as well! Fun and busy times 🙂

Remember though… I’m still a teacher! We started school on Thursday and had training on Tuesday. We had a staff breakfast to kick things into gear and I brought in a dairy free/gluten free quiche.

I’d never made quiche before, but was excited to try this recipe as it looked easy. I wasn’t sure if it would hold up with all of the substitutions, but everyone at worked raved about it. I thought it was delicious too! It’s not what I think of as a typical quiche, but I would call it more of an egg bake. Call it what you want, it is the perfect breakfast!

Whatcha Need:
Preheat oven to 375
(Adapted from Allrecipes.com)

2 c vanilla rice milk, unsweetened
4 eggs
1 c gf baking mix (I used 1/4 c gf bisquik and 3/4 c Hodgson Mill- it’s all I had)
1/4 c soy butter
1/2 c frozen broccoli, thawed & drained
3/4 c cooked, chopped sausage (I used turkey sausage)
1/2 c chopped mushrooms
1/4 c chopped onion
1 package of dairy free mozzarella cheese (I used the rice shreds)

Cook your chopped sausage. In the same pan you can also saute your onion and mushrooms.

In a large bowl, whisk together your milk, eggs, baking mix, and butter. Stir in the cheese, broccoli, sausage, onion, and mushrooms.

I used two pans: one circle pie pan and one eight inch square pan. I sprayed them and dusted them with sweet rice flour. Pour the egg mixture into the pans (they filled about halfway and rose almost all the way to the top when they were baking). Put them in the oven until the tops are golden brown… I left it in about 55 minutes. I’d check it at about 45.

I bet you could easily substitute whatever veggies or meat you want. Be creative and use what you like!

Here’s to a new school year…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

