News from Madison

28 Jul

Some exciting things have unraveled the past few months and I’m very excited to share my news with you!

It’s time that Madisonians (especially those of us with gluten and/or dairy issues)  have access to fresh, delicious cupcakes and treats. I’ve taken it upon myself to help solve this problem and hope to offer my cupcakes (and eventually more) at local venues across Madison… I believe my sweets are just as good (or even better) than their gluten-filled counterparts (after lots of continuous practice) and I am excited to help people fulfill their cravings for normalcy. I promise to keep you up to date as more information and news comes my way.  In the meantime…

KATIE FORAN-MCHALE, a very sweet intern from 77Square, heard about me and decided to write an article about my gluten free adventures. The article is now online here and you can catch it in print today! She did a great job capturing my journey and shared all of my hopes and dreams for the near future. I feel very grateful for such amazing press and hope that the word spreads that gluten free can taste delicious!

ALSO: A new and improved website will be coming shortly  in which people will be able to see all of my flavors, place orders, and learn more about me. In the meantime, I hope that you continue to stop by my blog. (Thank you to my amazing web developing boyfriend and very talented friend who is a photographer)

Please feel free to stop by my facebook page and like me (Goodbye Gluten) and if you want to chat about cupcakes, orders, baking, life, etc… please feel free to e-mail me: nicoleioneburns (at) gmail (dot) comPhotos by MIKE DEVRIES — The Capital Times

8 Responses to “News from Madison”

  1. Stacy July 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    I was diagnosed with Celiac 2 years ago and just as you, have had a hard time finding foods that don’t taste bland and like cardboard. A co-worker gave me your article to read today and I was very excited and proud that a fellow celiac in the Madison area has had such success making gluten-free treats. I agree that it’s never a good feeling to go out to eat with friends/family and have little to no options on what to eat. I’m not a burger person but usually I end up with a hunk of meat on a plate with no bun and no sides because restaurants think that’s what it means to eat GF. Best of luck in your GF business endeavors and I will keep my eye on your page.

    • GoodBye Gluten July 29, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Stacy,

      That’s hilarious that you mention the hunk of meat because that just happened to me yesterday…

      If you stop by the Victory for a treat, let me know your thoughts!

      Thanks for writing,
      Nikki

  2. Ray Remmich July 29, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Like the previous commentor, I saw the article in 77square yesterday and googled Victory cafe. My husband went there this morning and picked up 4 cupcakes. We both agree yours are by far the best gluten-free cupcakes we’ve had since 1998, the year he was diagnosed with celiac disease. We will definitely be going there more often, and following your blog to see where else we can buy your products. And we have talked many times about a gluten free cafe’ but don’t have the time or expertise needed. We would definitely patronize one, especially on the east side.
    Thank you again for the delicious treat!
    Ann

    • GoodBye Gluten July 29, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      Ann,

      Thank you for taking the time to stop by the Victory and my blog!

      I am really happy that you and your husband enjoyed the cupcakes! It means the world to me that I can add a little sweetness to people’s lives!

      Keep in touch. I will update my blog once things take off and let you know of new places that carry my product!

      (And fingers crossed that the cafe will happen!)

      Nikki

  3. Ruth Schreiner July 29, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Great article. My daughter and daughter in law are both on a gluten free diet, as a result of many years of stomach pain, headaches, bloating…. you name it. I will pass the article on to them both : ) I’m excited to stop by the Victory Cafe (I need to google it to see exactly where it is). I hope you do go forward with your cafe, and let us know when you have it opened – we look forward to eating good food again! I hope it is on the WEST side of Madison! Thanks again…..

    • GoodBye Gluten July 29, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      Hey Ruth,
      Thanks for stopping by my site!

      Unfortunately, as of a few hours ago we had a little snafu in our plan. My cupcakes will be back at the Victory starting September 1st. I’ll let you know if it happens sooner! Thank you 🙂

  4. Rebecca Dunai August 1, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Thanks for such an awesome blog! We are embarking on the gluten free diet after my young daughter has suffered for a long time with migraines and tummy aches. So glad that there is hope for yummy treats for her 🙂
    I had a questions about baking. Is there a standard formula for substituting for flour, other than using Pamela’s mix? I didn’t know if there was a ratio of white rice flour/brown rice flour/tapioca flour/xantham that I should use. Any info would be greatly appreciated. We look forward to trying your fabulous cupcakes!
    Rebecca

    • GoodBye Gluten August 2, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

      Good luck on your gluten free endeavors!

      There isn’t really a standard mix of flour for baking. It really depends on your own personal taste- and I’ve really found this to be true as I’ve asked people for comments on my treats. Some people like the taste of certain flours more than others.The staples that I have in my cupboard are: tapioca flour, sweet rice flour, potato starch (NOT potato flour- they are different), white rice flour, brown rice flour, sorghum flour. I always use at least one lighter flour or starch in my baking- mixed with one or two of the other “heavier” flours. I don’t know how accurate those terms are in the baking and chemistry world, but that’s what they seem to be to me.

      I hope that helps a little!

Leave a Reply

