Raspberry Cream Cheese Brownies

27 Jun

The past two weeks have been a whirlwind of baking, exciting business news, and much more. I will be writing another post soon to explain.

However, I simply had to tell you about these brownies I made. After two days with less than 6 hours of sleep (total) I woke up from a late night nap only to be informed that we would be going to a bbq the next day. I knew I wouldn’t have time to bake before, so I made some late night brownies. I knew I had extra cream cheese and raspberries, so I wanted to use those as well.

I found this recipe and they looked amazing. I found they taste more like a flourless chocolate, raspberry, cream cheese cake than a brownie. They are still tasty. I would also recommend serving with a raspberry sauce of some sort. YUM!

Raspberry Cream Cheese Brownies
Preheat your oven to 350
Whatcha need for the Brownies:
1/3 c white rice flour
1/3 c tapioca/brown rice flour (note: I filled half the 1/3 cup with tapioca and the rest with brown rice flour)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
8 tablespoons (1 stick)butter, softened
6 tablespoons cocoa powder
6 tablespoons dark cocoa powder
4 tablespoons oil
1/2 cup frozen raspberries, defrosted and divided
1 1/4cups sugar
3 large eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
For the Filling:
1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup sugar
1 large egg yolk
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray and flour (I used brown rice flour) an 8-inch square baking pan.

Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl. Set aside.

Mix together your softened butter, cocoa, and oil in a large bowl. Make sure everything is combined. Mix in 1/4 cup of the defrosted raspberries. Add the sugar, eggs, and vanilla to chocolate mixture. Make sure to scraped the sides of the bowl. Whisk in flour mixture until everything is incorporated. Set this aside and work on your filling!

Blend your filling ingredients: cream cheese, sugar, yolk, and vanilla until smooth.

Spread half of the brownie batter into prepared pan making sure it is even. Then carefully spread the cream cheese filling over brownie batter into an even layer. Sprinkle the remaining raspberries over the cream cheese filling and then spread remaining brownie batter evenly over filling.

Take a minute to lick the bowl. And the beaters. And the spatula. Holy cow. Delicious dark chocolate, raspberry, cream cheese goodness!

Bake until toothpick inserted into center comes out with a few dry crumbs attached, about 45 minutes. The original recipe called for 50-60, so check yours after about 40 minutes. Mine could have been taken out a little earlier. Cool on a wire rack and then refrigerate.

I will be serving these bad boys tonight at the BBQ with fresh raspberries.

3 Responses to “Raspberry Cream Cheese Brownies”

  1. Elizabeth Rotering June 28, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    That looks like a great recipe. I was thrilled to see there was no call for xanthum gum!

  2. Ray Remmich July 28, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Keep up the good work….I have been gf for 12 yrs….Will You be expanding to any new outlets……Thanks

    • GoodBye Gluten July 29, 2011 at 9:50 am #

      Thanks for stopping by! People have become more aware and things have gotten easier over just the past two years… I can’t imagine being gluten free 12 years ago.

      I’ll make sure to post when I do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

