Carrot Cake

28 Apr

A fellow colleague and friend swears by her carrot cupcakes. I, unfortunately, never had the opportunity to try one before going gluten-free.

In the past week I’ve made 2 sets of carrot cakes. One with dairy. One without (for us folks with a lactose problem).

Personally, I liked the dairy free one better. The dairy free cream cheese makes a delicious frosting. It’s lighter and less sweet. I also added less sugar to the batter my second round, and I enjoyed them more!

2 Responses to “Carrot Cake”

  1. what katie's baking April 30, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    what is the recipe for this lovely cupcake??

  2. GoodBye Gluten May 7, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Hi Katie!

    I used the recipe from the Better Homes and Garden cookbook recipe. The only change I made, besides the flour (I used a mixture of brown and white rice flour, tapioca, and sorghum) and xanthan gum, is that I cut the sugar to 1.5 cups. I found that it was too sweet otherwise!

    (http://www.bhg.com/recipe/cakes/carrot-cake/)

    Enjoy!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

