Raspberry Coffee Cake

10 Mar

Oh my goodness! These babies went so fast I wasn’t able to get a picture.. Just imagine a swirl of crumbles and raspberries on top of a cake πŸ™‚

My cravings are getting the best of me. They are keeping my oven busy and my co-workers happy. If you follow politics (I don’t), then you might know that yesterday a very sad decision was made that will very negatively effect teachers. I had to make something that would cheer us up, which is why I made some raspberry coffee cake.

To me, coffee cake is truly the perfect partner for coffee. So are cinnamon rolls, and doughnuts, and cake, and frosting, and….. πŸ™‚

When I made this coffee cake, the actual cake part felt more like bread dough. Very heavy. I had to flatten it down in the pan which concerned me. However, it turned out wonderfully.

Whatcha need:
Preheat oven to 350

For Cake:
3/4 c brown rice flour
3/4 c white rice flour
1/4 c tapioca flour
1/4 c potato flour
3/4 tsp xanthan gum
1/4 tspn salt
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 c shortening
3/4 c sugar
1 egg
1/2 c milk (I used soy)

For Topping:
1 c frozen raspberries
1/2 c white rice flour
1/2 c sugar
1/2 tspn cinnamon
1/4 c butter (I used soy)

Grease a 9×9 pan.

For the cake:
Whisk together your flours, salt, xanthan gum, & baking powder. Set aside.

Beat your shortening until it’s smooth. Add the sugar until combined and fluffy. Beat in the egg until smooth. Alternately add your flour and milk, making sure to mix everything completely. Pat your cake down into your pan.

For the topping:
Sprinkle the raspberries on top of the cake. Cut your butter into your sugar, cinnamon and flour. (I was lazy and mixed it with my mixer- so my crumbles weren’t so chunky) Sprinkle this mix onto your raspberries.

Bake for 50-60 minutes until your coffee cake is golden brown.

2 Responses to “Raspberry Coffee Cake”

  1. Sophie33 March 11, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    This gf cake must be so tasty & divine! Too bad that we don’t see a lovely picture!!

    Sounds so tasty too! πŸ™‚

    • GoodBye Gluten March 11, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

      It was delicious! People went crazy over it πŸ™‚ Next time I will add the full 2 cups of raspberries… I only had 1 cup at home and it would have been extra juicy with that extra cup. Yum! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

