Cinnamon Rolls

26 Feb

It’s been a year and a half.  Too long without a cinnamon roll. I crave these bad boys on a regular basis, but never wanted to try them. I have to be honest, baking with yeast is a scary thing to me. However, fear not my gluten-free friends. I have conquered the gluten free cinnamon roll. It was worth the wait.

I changed this recipe a little and ended up with some delicious rolls. I used 1.5 cups of gluten free flour (Hodgson Mill GF All Purpose) in place of the flours that they suggested… It was all I had at my dad’s house. I only used 2 tsp of xanthan gum, because there is already some in the mix. We didn’t have canola oil, so I melted 1/4 cup of vegetable shortening in its place. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as is.

I think that next time I will use plain sugar and cinnamon for the filling to try it the way my mom used to make them.

My family tried these and loved them. I’m doing everything in my power not to go and finish the 5 that are left. Must. Show. Restraint. (At least until breakfast tomorrow).

Leave a Reply

