Cake Balls

31 Jan

So, on Friday night we were going to a friend’s house and I wanted to bring cupcakes. After attempting more honey cupcakes (fail, fail, fail!) the only person eating my cupcakes were the garbage…. Of course I had to make something else that I could bring. I ended up finding a decent vanilla cupcake that I liked, frosted them, and badda-bing…. Vanilla cupcakes to share.

I shoved the extras into the container, but they weren’t completely cooled. Oops. The next morning the cupcakes were still delicious, but the wrappers had completely come undone! I had wanted to bring the extras to the boyfriend’s work party that night.

Solution? Cake balls! I popped the extra cupcakes into my food processor and ground them ’til they were in small chunks. I mixed the cake crumbles with half a can of gluten-free cream cheese frosting and then rolled them into balls. After about half hour in the freezer I was able to roll them into melted chocolate. They hardened beautifully and were DELICIOUS!

Cake balls to the rescue πŸ™‚

Vidal’s work friends were impressed and referred to me as the cupcake lady. He always brings my concoctions to work with him. Makes me feel like my baking addiction is worth while.

If you’re in a crunch for time (or have a baking mishap)- Cake Balls may be your new best friend.

PS: Cake balls & Cake pops are Bakerella’s thing. Check her out if you haven’t! She rocks.

2 Responses to “Cake Balls”

  1. Leslie February 14, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Nikki . . . you’re my new most-favorite person!! πŸ™‚ I had both of your awesome cuppiecakes at the Pro/Am in Milwaukee yesterday — the only 2 I could eat, since I’m GFree — and they were AWESOME!!! Just wanted to thank you! (And let you know you’ve got a new blog-stalker!)

    • missbarns February 14, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      Leslie,

      Thank you so much for your kind words! I have worked hard to make my gluten-free cupcakes taste non-gluten-free πŸ™‚ I am really excited that you enjoyed what you tasted! If you’re ever interested in ordering or chatting about baking, feel free to contact me!

      Stalk away my new friend πŸ™‚

      Happy Valentine’s Day!
      Nikki

Leave a Reply

