Iron Cupcake: Citrus Challenge

23 Jan

Today was my 3rd Iron Cupcake Madison and the secret ingredient this time was citrus. As I mentioned before, I made my gluten-free key lime pie cupcakes. Lime cake, key lime curd, vanilla buttercream, gf graham crumbs, and candied lime. Yum! When it came time to announce the winners, I was shocked to hear Nancy (the organizer of ICMadison) announce that I won best taste for my cupcakes, again! I couldn’t believe it! It makes me think that I can make a new name for gluten-free!

I started baking really late last night (9 pm), but had baked, filled, and frosted the cupcakes by 1:30 (with a few breaks in between). I went and bought more mini cupcake pans to make baking a little more efficient. It helped a bit! I also made all of my batches of dry ingredients at once, and then when I popped a batch into the oven, I mixed in the wet ingredients so the second batch was ready. It worked fairly well! I’m trying to get the hang of this baking in bulk thing 🙂

Now I just need to practice & decide upon my flavors for IC Milwaukee in less than 3 weeks… Better get baking!

PS: If you’re new to my site (and took a business card today), feel free to contact me with questions, comments, or orders 🙂

One Response to “Iron Cupcake: Citrus Challenge”

  1. Carinaya January 24, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    Congrats, Nikki!! I wish I could taste your cupcakes!!! It’s amazing how good they look when everything I see gf doesn’t look vey good!! Keep going and wish you all thebest for your next ironcup!!!!!

Leave a Reply

