Iron Cupcake 2…. Who said gluten-free can’t be delicious?

7 Dec

Well, folks. I have some pretty amazing and shocking news. But first, my apologies for not posting in such a long time. Not only have I been working hard at school (teaching), but I am also getting my masters right now. Classes have been kicking my tush.

As many of you know, I competed in the first Iron Cupcake last month with my pumpkin latte cupcake. Iron Cupcake Madison 2 was on Sunday. The challenge: Filled Cupcakes. All day Saturday I worked hard to bake, fill, frost, and decorate 180 mini cupcakes. Adding that extra step of filling was exhausting, but everyone loves a delicious surprise in the middle of their cakes. Right?

I had decided on making my raspberry filled coconut cupcakes (formerly known as the Cupid). They are one of my favorite fruity cupcakes, and of course they are filled. As it’s close to Christmas, my friend and colleague suggested calling them the Rudolph, as they have a fresh raspberry on top- much like Rudolph’s nose. It was a cute name, and a fun looking cupcake.

Now…The exciting news? Drum-roll please….. I won! For both best presentation and best taste. This is such an exciting event and I feel so grateful that people enjoyed my cupcake. The best part? Hopefully people will begin to understand that gluten-free doesn’t mean disgusting. With a little TLC, gluten-free can be a delicious thing. I am learning so much as I go and still have a lot to learn! The next Iron Cupcake is in January with Citrus as the theme. Can’t wait!

Thanks to everyone that came out and supported me and my baking addiction. It’s much appreciated. ๐Ÿ™‚ love.

One Response to “Iron Cupcake 2…. Who said gluten-free can’t be delicious?”

  1. Sarah December 12, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    Your cupcake was not only delicious it was amazing! I love raspberries so anything with raspberry makes me more than happy ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m glad I found out it was gluten free at the end, my Husband though it was a Vegan cupcake ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congratulations again Nikki an award well deserved!

Leave a Reply

