Witch Fingers, Spiders, and Mummies… Oh My!

6 Nov

I made some cupcakes for a friend. Her annual neighborhood Halloween party needed some cupcakes, and they actually needed to be gluten free! I could handle that.

I ended up making:

Red Velvet Witch Finger Cupcakes: Red Velvet cupcakes with black frosting, topped with a witch finger.

Vanilla Spider Cupcakes: Vanilla cupcakes with purple buttercream frosting, topped with spider rings. (The webs were made by piping a swirl of black frosting and then dragging a toothpick from the center out to make the web effect)

Chocolate Mummies: Chocolate cupcakes with strips of vanilla buttercream (I dragged the frosting across the cupcake using the basket tip- but with the basket texture side down). I glued eyes on the mummies using a little dab of frosting. The eyes are just sugar candies I bought from my local baking supply store.

Aren’t they cute? Apparently the witch fingers were all the rage. I already have her order for next year 🙂

2 Responses to “Witch Fingers, Spiders, and Mummies… Oh My!”

  1. Aubre November 12, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    So fun! Gotta love themed cupcakes.

    • missbarns November 12, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      Thanks Aubre 🙂

Leave a Reply

