Red Velvet Cupcakes (using a boxed mix)

26 Oct

Sorry for the lack of posts, folks! My camera battery is MIA and I hate posting without pictures…. However, I couldn’t wait any longer…. I have been a busy bee the past week. I’ve made: 3 dozen cupcakes for a 1st birthday, a birthday cake, 3 dozen cupcakes for a friend’s homecoming party, 2 different sets of birthday cupcakes…. I was asked today if I eat a cupcake a day. Maybe!

I was at the boyfriend’s house last night and had to make cupcakes for a co-worker’s 50th birthday. He doesn’t have xanthan gum or my Kitchen Aid mixer, so I opted for a box mix- but spruced it up a bit.

I started off with Hodgson’s Gluten Free Yellow Cake mix. I followed the recipe on the box with these changes:

1. I added 2 heaping tablespoons of cocoa powder to the buttermilk that the recipe calls for. I reserved 1/4 cup of plain buttermilk in a small bowl and then I blended the cocoa and remaining buttermilk with my hand-held mixer. Add one (1 oz) bottle of red food color to the reserved buttermilk and wait til step 3….

2. The recipe tells you to mix butter with the cake mix until it’s combined (and a little bit chunky). Then you add the vanilla, almond extract, buttermilk (mixed with the cocoa), and eggs and beat until it’s smooth.

3. After your batter is smooth, then you can add in the buttermilk+red food coloring mixture. Mix until well combined.

Follow the remaining instructions (fill baking cups 2/3 full & bake at 350 for 20ish minutes). These are beautiful, delicious, moist, and fluffy cupcakes. I topped these bad boys with some cream cheese frosting.

Enjoy!

The picture obviously isn’t a red velvet cupcake :D…. but it’s a picture of the birthday cake I made for my friend’s nephew’s 1st birthday. You can’t have a post without a picture, right?

Leave a Reply

