Iron Cupcake Madtown

4 Oct

So I competed in my first ever cupcake competition! Unfortunately, I didn’t win…. BUT I did give my info out to many people and it seemed that people were impressed with both my presentation as well as the taste of the cupcake (noone believed it was gluten free).Cupcakes were gone by 6:45, which is a huge success for Nancy and her first IC Madison (seeing as it was supposed to go until 9)!

Here is a picture of my cupcakes at the competition. It is the IC Madison Flickr page…

I can’t wait for the next one…. đŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Iron Cupcake Madtown”

  1. Anne October 24, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    I had a chance to try your cupcakes in Madison that weekend. They were phenomenal. I have looked through your blog and many other recipes were also intriguing. Can you share your recipe for the cupcakes that you had at the Madison store? Thanks!

    • missbarns October 30, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      Hello!

      Thanks for visiting the site! The cupcakes you tried at Driftless Studio (on State Street in Madison) were pumpkin spice cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. You can find the recipe here .

      It calls for 1 3/4 cup of Pamela’s baking mix. I just used my own mix of gf flours ( 1 c white rice flour, 1/2 c brown rice flour, 1/4 c tapioca flour) with 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 3/4 teaspoon salt, and 3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum.

      You could frost them with whatever frosting you like, I prefer vanilla buttercream, cream cheese frosting, or maple buttercream. Let me know if you try to make these on your own!

Leave a Reply

