Baked Goods

12 Apr

It’s been ages since I last posted!

I have been whipping up baked goods, trying to practice my gluten-free baking skills. Overall, I’ve come up with some really beautiful desserts and have also made messes that take hours to clean up!

I’m still trying to get used to the gluten-free flours. Almost every cupcake I make is dry. I’ve tried pulling ’em out early, adding yogurt instead of milk, turning my oven temp down…. I’ll get there! (Eventually….)

Thank goodness I have great friends, coworkers, and a courageous boyfriend to eat my practice cupcakes and cakes.

I’ve made 3 birthday cakes and 1 Easter cake using fondant! It is so much fun that I’m debating opening up my own gluten-free bakery/coffee shop.

Here are some pictures of the gluten-free goods I’ve baked in the past few months!

2 Responses to “Baked Goods”

  1. Carolyn August 18, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    These are all so pretty! Great job on decorating!!

    I have a great chocolate cake recipe that comes from Annalise Robert’s book: Gluten Free Baking Classics. I LOVE her recipes!!! The only thing that I don’t like about the book is the lack of pictures but her recipes more than make up for it. The only time my chocolate cake has ever flopped (and I’ve made it several times for many different birthdays) is when I didn’t hear my timer and overcooked it and then it was a little dry. I’ll eventually post that recipe on my blog…just haven’t had any special occasions arise that warrant it since I started blogging! 😦 I can totally relate to you with the seach for good recipes and the flops…I was there a year ago when we discovered my son was Gluten-intolerant. I feel SO much better now that I have good recipes under my belt. The chocolate cake and many of my other recipes (brownies, graham crackers) have passed the taste test, even with gluten-eaters, with flying colors!

    • missbarns August 19, 2010 at 2:59 am #

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      I’ll have to get her book and try her recipes out. I’m hoping to eventually start my own bakery/cafe where everything is gluten free, so I’m testing out recipes like crazy!

Leave a Reply

