Sweet Pickles

2 Apr

 

This past summer I babysat a few days a week for one of the most amazing families. I would always go to their house in hopes that there would be home made pickles to serve with lunch. I will admit that I would sneak a few (or a dozen…) pickles throughout the morning and didn’t always make it until lunch. Angie (the amazing mom) shared her recipe with me and I make these bad boys now all the time. They’re super simple and super delicious!

Sweet Pickles
1 small white onion, chopped
1 medium green pepper, chopped
3-4  cucumbers, sliced
1 Tablespoon of Celery Seed
1 c. white distilled vinegar
2 c. white sugar
1/2 TBS salt

Chop up all your veggies and dump them, along with your celery salt, into a decent sized container that has a lid. The lid fairy likes to hide all the lids in our house, so I settled for a cookie jar. It worked beautifully and looked gorgeous to boot.

In a medium saucepan, stir together your sugar, vinegar, and salt. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to low. Simmer for about 5 minutes (or at least until your sugar looks dissolved).

Carefully, pour your vinegar mixture on top of your veggies and stir. They might not all get covered at first, but it’ll be okay. I promise. Cover and put your soon-to-be pickles into the fridge. I always stir mine a few times over the first few hours to make sure that they all become submerged under the sugar liquid.

After 24 hours you will magically have pickles! I promise, if you eat half of them before the 24 hours I won’t judge. We can be pickle-eating buddies together. Mine are already half gone and it’s only been 2 hours :)

You can add freshly cut up cucumbers/onions/green peppers to your pre-made juice if you get low on your pickle stash. I tend to do this for a few days…. until I’m all pickled out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

