Chocolate Chip Cookies

26 Aug

I was having friends over to work on our first big masters program project and wanted to make some delicious, homemade chocolate chip cookies. It’s a comfort food. To avoid working. Right? Okay, maybe not. The work is done and the cookies were demolished. Mission accomplished.

Whatcha Need:

Preheat oven to 350

½ c tapioca flour
1 ½ c Bob’s Red Mill all purpose gluten free baking mix
1 tspn baking powder
¾ teaspoons baking soda
1 ½ teaspoons xanthan gum
¾  tspn salt
1 ¼ stick butter, softened
2/3  c brown sugar
½  c white sugar
1 large egg
1 tspn vanilla
1 c chocolate chips/chunks

In a bowl, sift together the flours, baking soda, baking powder, xanthan gum, and salt. Set aside.

In another bowl, cream the butter and both sugars together for about 2 minutes. I used my hand-held mixer. Mix in the egg until it is combined. Scrape the sides of the bowl and mix in the vanilla.

Gradually mix in the flour mixture, starting with adding only a third of the flour mixture. Mix until combined and add another third. Scrape the sides of the bowl and then mix in the last third of the flour.

Stir in the chocolate chips/chunks. (I used about 1 cup of Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet chips and chopped up a little chunk of a bittersweet chocolate bar I wanted to use up)

I put my dough into the fridge for about 30 minutes (so the cookies would still be warm when company showed up). This is optional. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and scoop whatever sized dough balls you like onto the paper about 2 inches apart. These bad boys expand. Bake for 12-15 minutes (it varied for each batch).

I think this recipe made between 24 and 30 cookies. (I’m not sure because my friend scarfed a handful down before I was able to count).

4 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Nate Dogg August 26, 2010 at 3:41 am #

    Sick bite, too bad u didn’t show the cookie that the bottle-nose dolphin got a hold of.

    • missbarns August 26, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

      Most people take human sized bites, Nate!

  2. Carolyn August 26, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    These look really good! I’ve been searching for a GF Chocolate Chipper. The best I’ve had so far was when I converted the Tollhouse Recipe using Brown Rice Flour Mix but the cookies came out kind of flat. I’ll be trying this one this upcoming weekend and I’ll let you know how it goes!

    • missbarns August 26, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

      They weren’t like a “normal” chocolate chip cookie, in that they were somewhat flat. They were crispy on the outside, but still soft and chewy on the inside. It was interesting. It definitely worked for my choco chip craving, but I’ll be trying the recipe using different types of flours for sure. Let me know how yours works out, and I’ll let you know when I try another version :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

