Key Lime Cupcakes

19 Aug

I was all chocolated out after 2 weeks of chocolate cupcake testing! When asking the boyfriend what I should try next, he said Key Lime…. Okay! I was pleasantly surprised after making these cupcakes. Their texture was fantastic: fluffy, moist, but not cakey. The cupcake itself has a very light lime flavor, but the filling is like an explosion of lime. I balanced it off with vanilla buttercream frosting. I’m bringing a few to school tomorrow (after all, most of us are back setting up our classrooms and could use a little treat) and I’m sending a few with the boyfriend (I’m all out of boxes, so I’m sending them in a little Sterilite container. He’s embarrassed that you can see through to the cupcakes. Silly.).

 

2 Responses to “Key Lime Cupcakes”

  1. Carolyn August 19, 2010 at 6:42 am #

    Those look really good! I have never done a filled cupcake before. How do you get the filling in?

    • missbarns August 19, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

      After the cupcakes have cooled, I cut a circle on top with a sharp knife angling into the center. I think it’s called the coning method. Then you take that little chunk out of the cupcake and spoon in (or pipe in) whatever filling you want so it’s level to the top of the cupcake. I don’t replace the piece I took out because I pipe frosting on top. :) I’ll take pictures next time and post them.

      I have tried just piping into the middle without taking a chunk out, but I don’t think you get enough filling in that way!

      These cupcakes got rave reviews from my boyfriend’s colleagues, my friends, and my colleagues. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

